Frederick (Hessian) Barracks
Closed to the public, pending restoration, except for special events. Completed in 1780, this National Historic Site held captured German soldiers during the Revolution, then it housed a state armory, the county fair, a Civil War hospital, and the first building of Maryland School for the Deaf. Museum exhibits weapons, Civil War militaria, a hearth kitchen, and an antique classroom.
Locations(s)101 Clarke Place | Frederick, MD 21701
Local: (301) 360-1455
Fax: (301) 360-1400
May We Recommend...
- Learn the story of a town built by the B&O Railroad and recall the lives of railroaders and their families at the Brunswick Heritage Museum
- Take a guided tour through 300 years of Frederick history and stroll through the beautiful gardens at the Museum of Frederick County History
- Visit the expansive Monocacy Aqueduct and view the largest structure on the C&O Canal
- Pay homage to the nation's fallen firefighters and view the 40-foot tall bronze monument honoring the flag raising at Ground Zero at the National Fallen Firefighters Memorial Park
- Explore one of America's finest examples of German colonal architecture at the Schifferstadt Architectural Museum