Frederick Visitor Center
The Frederick Visitor Center is on the site of the former Frederick Spoke Factory, which was in active production at the end of the 19th century. The current day building's history can be traced to circa-1899, when it was constructed as a warehouse of the Monocacy Valley Canning Company. The site capitalizes on Frederick's location at the hub of a network of highways that fan out like the spokes of a wheel, connecting many of Frederick County's attractions and natural and cultural resources. Exhibit design elements in the building and exhibits also echo this theme. Guests can see the "big picture" of all Frederick County has to offer when they view the new orientation film, A Turn of the Wheel. Closed Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year's Day. Closing noon on Christmas Eve and 3pm New Year's Eve.
Locations(s)151 South East St. | Frederick, MD 21701
Local: (301) 600-4047
Toll Free: (800) 999-3613
Fax: (301) 600-4044
May We Recommend...
- Learn the story of a town built by the B&O Railroad and recall the lives of railroaders and their families at the Brunswick Heritage Museum
- Take a guided tour through 300 years of Frederick history and stroll through the beautiful gardens at the Museum of Frederick County History
- Visit the expansive Monocacy Aqueduct and view the largest structure on the C&O Canal
- Pay homage to the nation's fallen firefighters and view the 40-foot tall bronze monument honoring the flag raising at Ground Zero at the National Fallen Firefighters Memorial Park
- Explore one of America's finest examples of German colonal architecture at the Schifferstadt Architectural Museum